Pulau Besar, Mersing

Been more than half a year I never blog. Guess I’m too bored seeing CVs everyday that make me revisit my dusty blog again. Lol

Thanks to another long weekend in Singapore in Aug this year which is why I did my homework 4 months prior to my trip to Mersing. I wanted a getaway because going back Melaka is a norm to me where I decided to do something extraordinary. I did research a few island around Mersing apart from Tioman. Reason why I didn’t want and never been to Tioman is firstly, Tioman is kinda commercialize and secondly I just wanted to rot and relax and not think of work, a real getaway with no fuss about anything plus more importantly on a budget. Eventhough SGD is still going strong, but I’m no different than anyone and not getting any richer as well :/

There are a few islands around besides Tioman which are Pulau Aur, Sibu, Rawa, Besar. In fact there are more than 5 islands around that area but mostly was fully booked 3 months before my trip and I was lucky enough because I was on a waiting list for Mirage Resort in Pulau Besar. Immediately when Chris (the person who coordinates with me prior to my trip) send me the quotation for my stay, I instantly deposited the amount that was required. It was RM450 per pax for 3d2n stay. Initially there were 3 of us, but one of my friend can’t join us and luckily Mirage Resort charged based on headcount.

As I was on a budget for this trip, direct bus is non an option for me because the price of direct bus was SGD100. Therefore, we took a non so inconvenient way is to take public transport from SG > Larkin and from Larkin we take a bus to Mersing that only cost about RM25 (for to and fro from Mersing <> Larkin). Little did we know, that 7 Aug morning, the jam started as early as 6am =.=” Everybody wants to go holiday like us as well. We took about 45min by foot to walk to Sg Custom and then to JB custom in order to catch our bus at 8am from Larkin to Mersing. Luckily we opt to walk, because if we miss the bus, we will miss our fun trip!

Because about 13 passengers didn’t board the bus due to heavy jam in Sg, both of us have 2 seats to ourself for our 2 hours journey from Larkin to Mersing. Upon arrival at Mersing bus terminal, we took the Causeway bus for RM3 to Mersing Jetty. We can actually choose to walk but we was not familiar with that area since its out first time. During our return we opt to walk and its only 10mins from Mersing jetty to bus terminal.

Need to look for Mirage Resort counter for check-ins and paying the remaining balance of our payment. There are nearby food courts and a cafe for us to chill while waiting for our speedboat

My fren insist to photobomb eventhough I told her I’m taking pic :/

I was surprise to see the water was green but clean as well, because the sea water in my hometown is brown in color. The speedboat can accommodate about 12 passengers thereabout and it’s a 30mins boat ride as Pulau Besar is the nearest island to Mersing Jetty as compared to the others around that area.

When both of us arrive Pulau Besar jetty, all we can say was wow. The water is crystal clear and I still can’t believe it that in Msia I can still see blue sea water. When I did my research I saw people posted that Pulau Besar water is blue, but I thought it was photo filter until I saw it with my own eyes. Really wow! While waiting for our room to be ready, we went to take some pics with the amazing scenery.

Great weather and amazing scenery. No filter. Taken from Iphone

We took the A Frame room, with basic furniture like a Queen Size bed and a Single bed, blanket, towel and NO TOILETRIES. This is my first time staying in a resort without toiletries. Although I’m well prepared but my friend forgot to bring hers, so she need to buy at a nearby super minimart that cost double the price. Because the island only has 3 resorts so don’t expect much, even ice cream pun tak de TT

Rented a bicycle from D Coconut resort for RM10 an hour because our resort don’t provide this service.

Day 1 we didn’t do much because we woke up too early so we rested quite early. Day 2 – after we have fully recharge we decided to explore this small island. Rented a bicycle from D Coconut resort for RM10 an hour because our resort don’t provide this service.

Things I used: Gorillapod, bicycle handlebars, bluetooth remote and an Iphone can do this trick. With the burst mode functions in iphone we only need to jump 3 times in order to synchronize our jumping timing, and tadaa the perfect jumping shot! Both of us was jumping for joy when we found our perfect jumping shot amongst the multiple burst shots LOL.

The joy of holiday

Can slack and relax for many hours and do nothing. This comfy beach chair is available at Aseania Resort and also the nearest resort that we could detect 3G and upload our awesome getaway pics! But the resorts are only less than 10 mins away from each other because after all the whole island is not fully develop.

No filter. Beautiful natural gradient colour of seawater

Because she cant live without internet while I can 😀

Random shot taken from my Lumix

I have no complain at all for my meal in Mirage, all the food they serve is damn delicious and we finished it everytime.

Wind is so strong till I do not need to blow bubble

The next time I shall visit the other island around that area too!

t.t.f.n ^.^

Leave a Reply

